Referral of 8 Member States to CJEU Over Protection of Whistleblowers
30 March 2023
Pingen Kopie Dr. Anna Pingen

On 15 February 2023, the Commission decided to refer the Czech Republic, Germany, Estonia, Spain, Italy, Luxembourg, Hungary, and Poland to the Court of Justice for failing to transpose and notify national measures implementing the directive on the protection of persons who report breaches of Union law (Directive 2019/1937). The directive, which was adopted and entered into force in 2019, requires Member States to provide effective channels for whistleblowers working in the public and private sectors to report breaches of EU law in confidence and to establish a robust system of protection against retaliation. The referral of the eight countries comes in response to their unsatisfactory responses to the Commission's reasoned opinions.

News Guide

EU Victim Protection