Romania Kicks Off New Trio Presidency of the Council of the EU
18 February 2019
Riehle_Cornelia_Neu_SW.jpg Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

Under the motto “Cohesion, a common European value,” Romania took over the Presidency of the Council of the EU on 1 January 2019. Priorities of the Romanian Presidency in the area of security include:

  • Increasing the interoperability of EU security systems;
  • Protecting the safety of citizens, companies, and public institutions in the cyberspace;
  • Improving the overall resilience of the Union to cyber-attacks;
  • Continuing the fight against terrorism;
  • Setting up the European Public Prosecutor’s Office.

The Romanian Presidency is the first in a new 18-month Trio Presidency, to be followed by Finland (July-December 2019) and Croatia (January-June 2020). According to the Trio Presidency’s 18-month programme, priorities for the EU’s internal security are:

  • To enhance police and judicial cooperation;
  • To combat organised crime, including drug trafficking and human trafficking;
  • To remove terrorist content online and to prevent radicalisation and extremism;
  • To enhance the interoperability of information systems,
  • To further develop the capacities needed to promote cybersecurity and to counter cyber-risks.
  • To advance mutual recognition and commit to promote e-Evidence and e-Justice;
  • To establish the EPPO and strengthen cooperation with OLAF.

The Trio programme points out that, at the beginning of the Trio, the main priority will be the finalisation of the still outstanding files of the current Strategic Agenda and in particular those listed in the Joint Declaration on the EU's legislative priorities for 2018-19. The future work will also be inspired by the outcome of the EU summit in Sibiu, Romania, which takes place on 9 May 2019, Europe Day. It will be the first summit of the national leaders of the EU-27 after Brexit.

News Guide

EU Area of Freedom, Security and Justice Council


Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

Academy of European Law (ERA)

Criminal Law

Deputy Head of Section