New Members of the General Court
20 December 2019
Riehle_Cornelia_Neu_SW.jpg Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

For the period from 1 September 2019 to 31 August 2025, the terms of office of the following 12 Judges of the General Court were renewed: Ms Vesna Tomljenović, Ms Mariyana Kancheva, Ms Inga Reine, Ms Ramona Frendo, Mr. Anthony Collins, Mr. Stéphane Gervasoni, Mr. Eugène Buttigieg, Mr. Fredrik Schalin, Mr. Ulf Öberg, Mr. Jan Passer, Mr. Alexander Kornezov, and Mr. Colm Mac Eochaidh.

In addition, the following persons were newly appointed as Judges of the General Court: Mr. Laurent Truchot (former Judge at the French Court of Cassation), Ms Mirela Stancu (former Director for European Affairs, International Relations and Programmes of the Romanian Superior Council of Magistracy), Ms Tuula Riitta Pynnä (former Judge at the Supreme Court of Finland), Ms Tamara Perišin (former Special Adviser to the Croatian Ministry of Science and Education), Ms Petra Škvařilová-Pelzl (former Legal Secretary at the Court of Justice), Ms Gabriele Steinfatt (former Judge at the Higher Administrative Court of Bremen), Mr. Johannes Christoph Laitenberger (former Director-General of the Directorate-General for Competition of the European Commission), Mr. José Martín y Pérez de Nanclares (former Director of the Office of the Presidency of the Spanish Council of State), Mr. Rimvydas Norkus (former President of the Judicial Council of Lithuania), Mr. Miguel Sampol Pucurull (former Deputy Director-General of EU and International Affairs at the Abogacía General del Estado (Spanish Ministry of Justice), Mr. Iko Nõmm (former Judge at the Estonian Court of Appeal), Ms Ornella Porchia (former Legal Adviser to the Permanent Representation of Italy to the European Union), Mr. Roberto Mastroianni (former Adviser to the Italian Government for legislative affairs in the Department of European Affairs), and Mr. Gerhard Hesse (former Director-General of the Legal Service of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Constitutional Affairs, Reforms, Deregulation and Justice). The oaths were taken on 26 September 2019, at which time the entry into office of the new Members also took place.

News Guide

EU European Court of Justice (ECJ)


Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

Academy of European Law (ERA)

Criminal Law

Deputy Head of Section