General Court: Recently Appointed New Judges and Elections
28 September 2022
Riehle_Cornelia_Neu_SW.jpg Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

On 16 September 2022, Marc van der Woude was re-elected President of the General Court of the EU for the period from 16 September 2022 to 31 August 2025. Mr van der Woude has served at the General Court as Judge, President of Chamber, Vice-President, and President since 2010. On the same day, Mr Savvas Papasavvas was re-elected Vice-President of the General Court of the EU for the same period. Since 2004, Mr Papasavvas has served as Judge, President of chamber, and Vice-President at the General Court.

On 19 September 2022, the Judges of the General Court elected the Presidents of Chambers from among their number. For the period from 19 September 2022 to 31 August 2025, the ten Chambers of the General Court will be presided by Dean Spielmann, Anna Marcoulli, Fredrik Schalin, Ricardo da Silva Passos, Jesper Svenningsen, Maria José Costeira, Krystyna Kowalik-Bańczyk, Alexander Kornezov, Laurent Truchot, and Ornella Porchia.

The mandates of the following judges at the General Court of the EU have been renewed for the period of 1 September 2022 to 31 August 2028 by decision of the EU Member States: Mr Lauri Madise, Mr Iko Nõmm, Ms Anna Marcoulli, Mr Savvas S. Papasavvas, Ms Tuula Pynnä, Mr Heikki Kanninen, Ms Maria José Costeira, Mr Ricardo Da Silva Passos, Mr Geert De Baere, Mr Sten Frimodt Nielsen, Mr Krisztián Kecsmár, Mr Paul Nihoul, Mr Jesper Svenningsen, Mr Marc Van Der Woude, Mr Ion Gâlea, Mr Marc Jaeger, Mr Dean Spielmann, Ms Mirela Stancu, Mr Ioannis Dimitrakopoulos, Mr Gerhard Hesse, and Mr Tihamér Tóth.

Three judges (Ms Elisabeth Tichy-Fisslberger, Mr Goulielmos (William) Valasidis, and Mr Steven Verschuur) have been appointed as new judges of the General Court of the EU for the period from 1 September 2022 to 31 August 2028.

Prior to her appointment, Ms Tichy-Fisslberger served, inter alia, in various positions in the European Commission, the Austrian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Austrian Representation to the EU as well as Ambassador at the Permanent Mission of Austria to the United Nations Office. She has also been teaching law at various academic institutions. Ms Tichy-Fisslberger succeeds Mr Viktor Kreuschitz.

Mr Goulielmos Valasidis entered the service of the Court of Justice of the EU in 1998, serving as Legal Secretary, followed by positions as Director of the Protocol and Information Directorate and Director of Communications. Mr Valasidis succeeds Mr Constantinos Iliopoulos.

Before joining the Court, Mr Steven Verschuur pursued a career as a lawyer with various law firms in the Netherlands and in Belgium. He was also Deputy Judge in the Civil Law Division of the Rechtbank Zeeland-West-Brabant (District Court, Zeeland-West-Brabant, the Netherlands). Mr Verschuur succeeds Mr René Barents.

News Guide

EU European Court of Justice (ECJ)


Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

Academy of European Law (ERA)

Criminal Law

Deputy Head of Section