EU Justice and Home Affairs Agencies’ Network Sets Priorities

On 25 January 2018, the EU Justice and Home Affairs agencies’ network presented its work in 2017 and priorities for 2018 to the LIBE Committee.

The network is currently composed of nine agencies: CEPOL, EASO, EIGE, EMCDDA, eu-LISA, Eurojust, Europol, FRA, and Frontex. EIGE took over the chair of the network from the EMCDDA on 1 January 2018.

In 2017, the network focused on the increased role of the Internet and the use of cyberspace for criminal purposes. Its priorities in 2017 included technical support for the implementation of the European Agenda on Migration and for the European Agenda on Security as well as a conference on “The internet for criminal purposes — challenges and opportunities for the work of the JHA agencies.”

In 2018, the network plans to continue its efforts to improve the management of the EU’s external borders, thus fighting organised crime and counteracting terrorism and cybercrime. Priorities will be given to the impact of digitalisation on women and men in the policy areas covered by the network. They will also include the analysis of gender equality through the collection and usage of sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics for relevant operational areas of the JHA agencies.

News Guide



Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

Academy of European Law (ERA)

Criminal Law

Deputy Head of Section