Entry into Force of Surrender Agreement Between European Union and Norway/Iceland
12 January 2020 (updated 2 years, 6 months ago)
Christine Götz

On 28 June 2006, the European Union, the Republic of Iceland, and the Kingdom of Norway entered into an agreement on the surrender procedure between the Member States of the European Union and Iceland and Norway. The agreement aims at improving the surrender procedure for the purpose of prosecution or execution of a sentence between the EU Member States and Iceland and Norway. The expedited extradition procedures are largely based on the European Arrest Warrant model (cf. eucrim 1-2/2006, p. 19).

According to the final provisions, the agreement enters into force on the first day of the third month following the day on which the Secretary-General of the Council of the European Union has found that all formal requirements (especially the deposit of the notifications and declarations) have been fulfilled. With the submission by Italy of its notifications and declarations on 29 August 2019, all EU Member States, Iceland, and Norway have now deposited their declarations and notifications. Accordingly, the formal requirements have been fulfilled and the Agreement entered into force on 1 November 2019. The library of the European Judicial Network provides further information about the notifications and declarations and other useful details.

News Guide

EU Judicial Cooperation


Christine Götz

Christine Götz was intern at the Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law in 2019. She is a law student at the Faculty of Law of the University of Potsdam, Germany.