ECtHR: First Female President Elected
29 November 2022
andras_csuri_1fc5ccbce0.jpg Dr. András Csúri

On 19 September 2022, the Irish judge Síofra O'Leary was elected as the new President of the ECtHR, the first woman to hold this position. Judge O’Leary, who succeeds Robert Spano (Iceland), took up office on 1 November 2022.

O’Leary holds a PhD from the European University Institute in Florence and served as Référendaire, Chef de Cabinet and Head of Unit at the Court of Justice of the European Union prior to her career at the ECtHR. She has been a judge for the ECtHR in respect of Ireland since 2 July 2015, President of Section since 1 January 2020, and Vice-President of the Court since 2 January 2022.

On 19 September 2022, the Court also elected two new Vice-Presidents: Judges Georges Ravarani (Luxembourg) and Marko Bošnjak (Slovenia). In addition, two new Section Presidents – judges Pere Pastor Vilanova (Andorra) and Arnfinn Bårdsen (Norway) were elected. All elected judges took up their duties on 1 November 2022.

News Guide

Council of Europe European Court of Human Rights


Dr. András Csúri

Vienna University of Economics and Business