ECtHR: Election of new President, Vice-President, and Section President

On 1 April 2019, the Court elected Linos-Alexandre Sicilianos (Greece) as new President, Robert Spano (Iceland) as new Vice-President, and Ksenija Turković (Croatia) as new Section President. They took office on 5 May 2019.

Prior to his career at the ECtHR, Sicillianos worked as professor at the Faculty of Law of the University of Athens. He also served on the CoE’s Committee of Experts for the improvement of procedures for the protection of human rights (DH-PR), on the United Nations Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD), and as a member of the Executive Board of the FRA.

Before joining the ECtHR, Spano held various positions at the University of Iceland and was the Icelandic Member of the European Committee on Crime Problems (CDCP).

Ksenija Turković held different positions at the University of Zagreb. She was President of the Expert Committee responsible for drafting a new Croatian Criminal Code and Vice-President of the CoE Group of Specialists on Child-friendly Justice (CJ-S-CH).

News Guide

Council of Europe European Court of Human Rights


Dr. András Csúri

Vienna University of Economics and Business