Council Gives Green Light for New Frontex Agreements with Western Balkans
27 December 2022
Riehle_Cornelia_Neu_SW.jpg Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

On 18 November 2022, the Council of the EU authorised the opening of negotiations with Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, and Serbia to broaden agreements on Frontex cooperation. While the already existing agreements between Frontex and Albania, Montenegro, and Serbia allow Frontex to carry out joint operations and deploy teams in the regions of those countries bordering the EU, future new agreements – negotiated under the Agency’s new mandate – would allow it to assist these countries in their efforts to manage migratory flows, counter illegal immigration, and tackle cross-border crime throughout their territories. Furthermore, Frontex staff could exercise executive powers, such as border checks and the registration of persons. Following authorization by the Council, the Commission is now able to start negotiations with the four countries.

News Guide

EU Frontex


Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

Academy of European Law (ERA)

Criminal Law

Deputy Head of Section