Buildings of CJEU in Luxembourg Renamed
3 February 2023
Riehle_Cornelia_Neu_SW.jpg Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

To mark its 70th anniversary (→ eucrim news of 15 December 2022), the Court of Justice of the EU decided to give new names to the newest parts of its building complex: Comenius, Montesquieu, Rocca, and Themis are now the names of towers which have been designated so far only with the letters A, B, C, and Annex C. Two existing buildings already carry the names Erasmus and Thomas More.

By bestowing new names to the buildings, the Court continues its approach of appreciating personalities who stood for the values that the CJEU defends. According to the President of the CJEU, Mr Koen Lenaerts, the Court wished to “select personalities who were amongst the first defenders of values that the jurisprudence of the Court of Justice and the General Court protects, such as democracy, the rule of law, respect for diversity, including multilingualism, equal access to knowledge and, more broadly, equal opportunities and social justice.”

Jan Amos Komenský (1592-1670), known as "Comenius", was a philosopher and pedagogue and the first defender of universal education. Charles-Louis de Secondat de la Brède, Baron de Montesquieu (1689-1755), was a lawyer, judge, and writer and one of the first comparativists of law as well as a pioneer of modern sociology. In his work The Spirit of Law, he set out the basis for the principle of the separation of powers. Giustina Rocca is regarded as the first female lawyer in history. Themis is the goddess of justice in Greek mythology.

News Guide

EU European Court of Justice (ECJ)


Cornelia Riehle LL.M.

Academy of European Law (ERA)

Criminal Law

Deputy Head of Section